Dennis Meier

PhD., Professor ved Instiutt for materialteknologi, NTNU

Professor Dr. Dennis Meier received a degree (Diploma) in physics in 2006 at the University of Cologne, Germany. After working as research assistant at the Los Alamos National Lab during 2006, he then returned to Germany and obtained a PhD from the University of Bonn in 2010, honored by the Dissertation Award of the Physics and Astronomy Foundation Bonn, Germany. From 2010 to 2013, he was Feodor-Lynen Research Fellow (Alexander von Humboldt Foundation) at the University of California, Berkeley, USA, working at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering. In 2013 he joined ETH Zurich, Switzerland, where he established a new Junior Research Group and also habilitated in 2015. In 2016, Meier was appointed as Onsager Fellow and Associate Professor at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim, Norway. Since 2018, he has been full Professor at NTNU and associated member of QuSpin, a new Centre of Excellence for Quantum Spintronics at the Department of Physics at NTNU. His research studies functional electric and magnetic properties of topological systems at the nanoscale, which is conducting as head of an international team of about 10 people from 7 different countries. Furthermore, Dennis Meier serves in different positions including, e.g., the advisory boards of NTNU Nano, the European Magnetism Association (EMA), and the editorial board of the Journal of Electroceramics, Springer. He is elected member of the Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters, as well as the Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences. Recent honors include awards from the German Physical Society (Gustav-Hertz Award), the Norwegian Academy of Science (Fridtjof Nansen award for young scientists), the Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters (I. K. Lykkes award for young researchers) and an ERC Consolidator Grant from the European Research Council. Meier and his team are interested in all forms of functional topological systems, working at the forefront of research in ferroic domain walls and non-trivial spin textures. They study their unusual physical nanoscale properties and explore the opportunities such topological systems offer for the design of next-generation information and communication technologies. This work involves the application and development of advanced microscopy methods at relevant length scales down to the level of individual atoms.